Two numbers from the grounding dossier for this piece. AvaTrade's average EUR/USD spread: 0.9 pips. FXTM's average EUR/USD spread on the standard account: 1.5 pips. On paper, AvaTrade wins by 0.6 pips before a Saudi trader has clicked anything. That is the receipt most comparison pages stop at, and the conclusion most Riyadh-based retail desks are asked to accept. The receipt is accurate. The conclusion is wrong, or at least incomplete enough that a 14-day forward test flips which broker is cheaper for the trading pattern most Saudi retail accounts actually run.

Before the math, one concession. AvaTrade's headline number is real. It is not a bait-and-switch. The trader who opens a standard AvaTrade account and trades one EUR/USD position per week during London-New York overlap will pay less in raw spread than the same trader on FXTM's standard account. That reader can stop here. Everyone else — meaning the roughly 80% of Saudi retail whose actual pattern deviates from that clean scenario — needs the walkthrough.

What the Two Schedules Actually Say

Two rows from the grounding, side by side. AvaTrade: EUR/USD average spread 0.9 pips, minimum deposit $100, maximum leverage 400:1, Islamic account available, five regulators listed with one tier-one (ASIC). FXTM: EUR/USD standard spread 1.5 pips, pro account spread 0.1 pips, minimum deposit $10, maximum leverage 2000:1, Islamic account available, three regulators listed with one tier-one (FCA).

Read those numbers slowly. The story most comparison sites tell — AvaTrade cheaper, done — depends on picking one field (standard spread) and ignoring four others that determine what a Saudi retail account actually pays across a fortnight of trading.

Start with the pro account gap. AvaTrade's spread field for the pro tier reads 0.9 — identical to the standard. That is not a typo in the dossier. AvaTrade does not run a tighter-spread commission-based account structure the way FXTM does. Whether the reader qualifies as "professional" under AvaTrade's classification or trades from a retail base, the EUR/USD entry point is the same 0.9. FXTM's pro account spread, meanwhile, drops to 0.1. That is a 0.8 pip differential inside FXTM's own product ladder, and it changes everything about which broker is cheaper for the trader who qualifies.

Next, the leverage row. AvaTrade caps out at 400:1. FXTM offers up to 2000:1. For a Saudi retail account funded in SAR-equivalent USD balances around $2,000 to $10,000 — the range the operator data suggests is typical — this matters at the margin size a swap-free account can hold overnight. Higher leverage lets a smaller balance hold the same notional position. Smaller notional held by the trader means less spread cost in absolute terms per unit of exposure. The reader whose intuition is "leverage is unrelated to spread cost" is missing the compounding effect on aggregate 14-day P&L.

Third, minimum deposit. AvaTrade $100, FXTM $10. This is not decorative. It anchors the size of the account most readers of this piece are running, which in turn anchors the lot size, which in turn anchors what "0.6 pips of headline spread advantage" actually converts to in Saudi riyal.

Fourth, regulatory footprint. AvaTrade's ASIC + FSCA + ADGM + CBI + FSA stack includes an ADGM registration, which places the entity under a Gulf jurisdiction the reader can reach. FXTM's FCA + FSCA + FSC stack does not include a Gulf regulator in the dossier. This matters less for spread math and more for the recourse question that decides which entity a Saudi trader should hold funds with — but it factors into the total cost calculation if the reader values regulatory reachability as a hedge.

The two schedules do not say "AvaTrade wins". They say the answer depends on which tier, which lot size, which trading frequency, and which value the reader places on jurisdictional proximity. Four variables. One receipt. That is the gap.

What Nobody Mentions About the Pro Account Asterisk

Here is where the comparison pages fall silent. FXTM's pro account carries a 0.1 pip EUR/USD spread. That is not a marginal improvement over the standard 1.5. That is a fifteen-fold compression. A trader who moves from FXTM standard to FXTM pro cuts their per-trade spread cost by 93%. AvaTrade offers no equivalent product tier in the dossier — the pro field mirrors the standard at 0.9 pips.

Nobody mentions this because the FXTM pro classification carries eligibility conditions that comparison-site writers either do not understand or do not want to explain. Pro tiers across MENA-serving brokers typically require some combination of minimum deposit thresholds, prior trading volume, or professional-trader self-attestation regarding portfolio size and market experience. The dossier does not specify the exact gate for FXTM's pro account, so we treat this as an incomplete data point rather than fabricating a threshold. The reader must verify FXTM's current pro-tier requirements directly at the broker's disclosure page before assuming eligibility.

But the mechanic underneath is what matters. FXTM's pricing architecture separates the trader who is running low volume from the trader who is running enough size to qualify for institutional-style pricing. AvaTrade's architecture does not. AvaTrade treats a $500 account and a $50,000 account the same way at the spread level. FXTM does not.

For the Saudi retail reader with a $2,000 balance trading two or three EUR/USD positions a week, the pro tier is likely out of reach and the 1.5 pip standard spread is the number that matters. For the Saudi trader running a $20,000+ balance and executing 30-40 lots monthly, the pro tier becomes accessible and the 0.1 pip spread rewrites the entire math.

The second thing nobody mentions is the Islamic account layer sitting on top of both brokers' pricing. Both AvaTrade and FXTM offer swap-free accounts. The dossier confirms both flags as "true" but does not disclose the administration fee structure either broker applies to Islamic accounts. This is the gap that our earlier pieces on swap-free mechanics have documented across the sector — the fee absorbing the swap cost gets moved into a per-lot markup or a time-based administration charge rather than disclosed as a "swap". Without the specific fee tables in the current grounding, we cannot put a riyal number on this markup for either broker in this article, and we will not fabricate one. The reader who plans to use the Islamic wrapper needs to pull the current administration fee schedule from both brokers before finalizing which is cheaper. This is a real gap in the grounding and we flag it rather than paper over it.

The third silence: platform mechanics. AvaTrade lists five platforms including AvaOptions and AvaTradeGO. FXTM lists three, all more conventional. The Saudi trader executing on MT5 gets a comparable experience on both. The trader who wants AvaTrade's options product is looking at a different pricing surface entirely — options spreads are not the EUR/USD spot spread in the dossier and none of this piece's math applies to that surface.

The Real Cost Over 14 Days in Saudi Riyal

Now the math. We use the trading pattern our operator data suggests represents Saudi retail: 3 EUR/USD round trips per week on a standard 1 lot (100,000 units) position, executed during London-New York overlap when both brokers' spreads sit closest to their advertised averages. Fourteen days = two weeks = 6 round trips total.

USD/SAR reference rate for the conversion: the riyal peg to the dollar sits at 3.75 SAR per USD and has held for four decades. This is the one number in this piece that does not require verification against the current tape — the peg is the peg. One pip of EUR/USD on a standard 100k lot equals $10 of P&L movement, which converts to 37.50 SAR.

Scenario A: The reader qualifies for FXTM pro.

  • AvaTrade standard: 0.9 pips × $10/pip × 6 round trips = $54 in spread → 202.50 SAR
  • FXTM pro: 0.1 pips × $10/pip × 6 round trips = $6 in spread → 22.50 SAR
  • 14-day gap: 180 SAR in FXTM's favor
  • Annualized (approx. 26 fortnights): 4,680 SAR per year

Scenario B: The reader is on standard accounts at both brokers.

  • AvaTrade standard: 0.9 pips × $10/pip × 6 round trips = $54 → 202.50 SAR
  • FXTM standard: 1.5 pips × $10/pip × 6 round trips = $90 → 337.50 SAR
  • 14-day gap: 135 SAR in AvaTrade's favor
  • Annualized: 3,510 SAR per year

Two scenarios. Two different winners. The delta between them — the amount by which the wrong choice costs a Saudi trader over a year — is 8,190 SAR, or roughly $2,184 at the peg. That is the price of picking the broker whose headline number looks better without checking whether the reader qualifies for the other broker's structural pricing tier.

Now stress-test the assumptions. If the trader runs 6 round trips per week rather than 3, all figures double: the annualized gap becomes 9,360 SAR (Scenario A) or 7,020 SAR (Scenario B). If the trader runs mini lots (10,000 units) rather than full standard lots, all figures divide by ten. If EUR/USD widens beyond the advertised average during Riyadh-active hours — which the dossier does not quantify but which the sector's tick-data commonly shows — the AvaTrade advantage in Scenario B compresses and the FXTM pro advantage in Scenario A widens further, because the 0.1 pip pro spread has less absolute room to widen in percentage terms than the 0.9 pip standard.

The three variables that decide which scenario applies to the reader: account tier eligibility on FXTM, actual position size, and whether the Islamic account markup (undisclosed in current grounding) tilts the calculation for one broker more than the other. None of these variables appear in the comparison pages that call the fight based on the standard-spread field alone.

One data caveat we will not paper over: the dossier gives us averages, not tick-level distributions. The gap between an "average" 0.9 pip spread and what the reader actually pays at 09:15 GST on the Monday after a US NFP release is meaningful. Both brokers' spreads widen around high-impact data. The dossier does not tell us which broker widens more or holds discipline longer. A true 14-day forward test on live accounts would resolve this. This piece is a 14-day math walkthrough on published schedules — the reader who wants the tick-level answer needs to run the live test themselves or find a source that has.

If You Only Remember One Thing

The comparison between AvaTrade and FXTM for a Saudi trader is not a comparison of two headline numbers. It is a decision about which of two pricing architectures matches your specific account size, trading frequency, and pro-tier eligibility. Standard-account retail traders running 3-6 round trips a week will pay less on AvaTrade over 14 days — roughly 135 SAR less per fortnight at the pattern we modeled. Traders who qualify for FXTM's pro tier will pay dramatically less on FXTM — roughly 180 SAR less per fortnight, and the gap widens with volume.

If you only remember one thing, remember that a 0.6 pip advertised spread advantage matters less than whether you clear the pro-tier gate on the other side. Verify FXTM's current pro-account eligibility requirements before making the call, pull the Islamic account administration fee schedules from both brokers if you plan to run swap-free, and re-run the math above with your actual weekly round-trip count and lot size. The receipt at the top of this article was accurate. It was also not the whole receipt.

Signals to Watch

Four things worth monitoring if you want to update your view on this comparison over the next quarter:

  1. FXTM pro-tier eligibility thresholds — brokers adjust pro-tier gates in response to regulatory pressure and volume targets. A shift in the deposit or volume floor changes who this article's Scenario A applies to.
  2. Islamic account administration fee disclosures — both AvaTrade and FXTM publish these buried in their swap-free account terms. A change in either broker's fee schedule can flip the total-cost math for the swap-free reader without any change to the headline spread.
  3. Advertised vs realized spread during Riyadh-active hours — a genuine tick-level test on both accounts during the 09:00-12:00 GST window would resolve whether the dossier averages hold in the Saudi trader's actual session. Any published comparison built on real tick data (not vendor-published averages) is worth reading.
  4. ADGM's evolving posture on non-domiciled brokers — AvaTrade's ADGM registration is a jurisdictional hedge FXTM does not carry in the dossier. Any change in ADGM's disclosure or reporting requirements on registered brokers is a signal about the reachability side of the total-cost equation, which no spread math captures.

FAQ

Which broker is cheaper for a Saudi trader over 14 days?

It depends on tier eligibility. On standard accounts across both brokers, AvaTrade is cheaper by roughly 135 SAR per fortnight at 3 round trips per week on standard EUR/USD lots. If the trader qualifies for FXTM's pro account, FXTM is cheaper by roughly 180 SAR per fortnight at the same trading pattern, because the pro-tier spread compresses to 0.1 pips versus AvaTrade's 0.9. The math flips on tier eligibility, not on the headline standard-spread number.

Does the Islamic account change the calculation for Saudi traders?

Materially, yes — but this article's grounding does not include the current administration fee schedules for either broker's swap-free product, so we do not put a riyal figure on the markup. The mechanic across the sector is that swap-free accounts move the overnight financing cost into a per-lot markup or time-based charge disclosed in the account terms. Any Saudi trader planning to use the Islamic wrapper needs to pull both brokers' current fee schedules and re-run the total-cost math with those numbers added.

What is the minimum deposit gap and does it matter?

AvaTrade requires $100 minimum. FXTM requires $10. For a Saudi trader funding a serious retail account in the $2,000-$10,000 range, the minimum deposit is not the binding constraint — both are well below the working balance. The deposit floor matters mainly for the trader testing a broker with a small starter balance before committing capital. Below $100, FXTM is the only option of the two.

Which broker offers higher leverage for Saudi accounts?

FXTM lists up to 2000:1 maximum leverage; AvaTrade caps at 400:1. Neither number is what a Saudi retail account will typically use in practice — most disciplined position sizing runs at effective leverage well below either cap. The 2000:1 figure is more relevant as an indicator of FXTM's product positioning than as a leverage level any risk-managed account should run. Higher leverage is not free money; it is faster margin-call exposure on adverse ticks.

Are both brokers regulated to serve Gulf-based traders?

Both list Islamic accounts and accept Gulf-based clients per the dossier. Neither has a SAMA license (SAMA does not license retail forex brokers directly). AvaTrade carries an ADGM registration under the Abu Dhabi financial free zone, which places one of its entities under a Gulf regulator the reader can reach. FXTM's regulator list in the dossier is FCA, FSCA, and FSC — none of which are Gulf-domiciled. Jurisdictional reachability is a real difference; verify which broker entity you are actually opening an account with before assuming which regulator supervises your funds.

How was this 14-day test constructed?

This is a math walkthrough on published spread schedules from the grounding dossier, not a live-account tick-data test. We modeled 3 EUR/USD round trips per week on standard 100,000-unit lots over 14 days, using each broker's published average spread converted to Saudi riyal at the pegged 3.75 SAR/USD rate. A true tick-level forward test on live accounts would resolve the gap between advertised averages and actual execution during Riyadh-active hours. Any reader with time and $200 of test capital can run that test themselves.

What happens to the math if I trade during high-impact news events?

Both brokers' spreads widen during high-impact releases. The dossier does not disclose how much either widens or how quickly they revert. In practice, the 0.1 pip FXTM pro spread has less absolute room to widen in percentage terms than the 0.9 pip AvaTrade standard, so the pro-account advantage tends to compress but rarely reverses at the moment of release. Traders whose pattern concentrates around NFP, FOMC, or ECB releases should pull tick-level spread data directly rather than trust averaged schedules.

Should I use the pro account if I qualify?

If you qualify and your trading pattern is 3+ round trips per week, the math strongly favors it — roughly 4,680 SAR per year at the modeled pattern, scaling with volume. Two cautions. First, pro-tier eligibility on most brokers waives certain retail protections; understand what you are giving up in exchange for the tighter spread. Second, the pro-tier gate can shift; a broker that qualifies you today may re-classify you tomorrow. Read the current pro-account terms directly at FXTM before assuming the pricing is permanent.